.

Murrieta's Golden Triangle Plan up for Environmental Review

Proposed features of the Golden Triangle include restaurants, a theater, a hotel and office, according to the report that has been released for public review.

Members of the Murrieta Planning Commission were tasked as of Wednesday to begin looking over revived development plans for The Golden Triangle, a large swath of land situated where Interstates 15 and 215 intersect.

The project, bordered by Murrieta Hot Springs Road, would consist of a 1.7-million-square-foot open-air retail commercial district that could break ground as early as 2014. Proposed features include restaurants, a theater, a hotel and office space.

First things first, however.

The city of Murrieta has released an environmental impact report that was conducted as a precursor to the build-out of the 64.3-acre triangular project site.

A 45-day window during which the public can review the environmental report opened Feb. 8 and concludes March 25. During this time, members of the public may submit comments to the city.

The report is available for the public to view via the city's website or at Murrieta City Hall or the Murrieta Public Library, according to City Planner Cynthia Kinser.

City staff will review all submitted feedback, which will be followed by public hearings before the Planning Commission and the City Council, Kinser said.

Though a specific plan was developed for The Triangle in 1991, much has changed since then, Kinser said. Thus, a new environmental review and updated plans needed to be compiled.

Provided the revised specific plan is approved, development could get underway as soon as 2014 and continue for as many as seven years, according to city staff. The project would be constructed in phases based on market demand.

Improvements to the property would need to include utilities and the possible addition of roadway access from the adjacent freeways, according to the report. The impact of increased traffic on Murrieta Hot Springs Road was listed as a plausible concern in the report.

Julia Milligan February 14, 2013 at 02:59 PM
Wow is this another Chinese get your green card project. Beware we have so much office and retail space open now. Why do we need another right now. How about invest into our schools and get your green card if you are going to do this program with China
kentswife February 14, 2013 at 04:03 PM
Build SOMETHING already!
WrigsMom February 14, 2013 at 06:39 PM
You guys are never happy! We don't have decent shopping or restaurants. We have to spend our dollars outside of our community. Now someone wants to try to do something to help change that and you are all negative. No they probably won't drive from the OC or SD. I doubt they are the target demographics. But I bet people within a 20 - 30 mile radius will. Geez it would be nice to read something positive on this page once in a while. Now don't get al wee weed up and get ugly. Oh well you will no matter what.
LBV Collins February 14, 2013 at 07:09 PM
I agree, Althea. I would love to see decent shopping or restaurants. Right now, I spend a lot of my $$$ in Temecula. (Though I am looking forward to trying out that new Brew-ligion pub. Hope it's as good as... or better than... BJ's Brewery.) And I know this can't happen, but it would be SOOO cool if there was a Costco there. (Ya' know... in Murrieta instead of Temecula.)
Jit566 February 14, 2013 at 07:19 PM
I think we should focus on education and tracking more companies to open business and offices here. I will purpose to build a nice science and engineering museum and also a sport museum. We have to travel to LA, OC, or SD to visit museums. This will help our city to boost edcation focus environment. High tech and green tech are the way to boost our local economy. They are clean and high pay and will create more jobs and stable the housing market. It will totally benefit all of our children in the radius of 30 miles.
WrigsMom February 14, 2013 at 07:25 PM
LBV you are so right! I would love a Costco, a Trader Joe's, a Nordstrom etc etc. It is so frustrating to have to spend my dollars in Temecula! Our economy is improving, our houses are starting to gain back some value. It will be a long, slow road but it is starting to happen.
mike smith February 14, 2013 at 07:32 PM
LBV, You wanna take the pain out of Costco, head north. The LE Costco is wide open , easy parking , never crowded. Easy in easy out. All that and you even save time. Cheers.
Desert Dweller February 14, 2013 at 07:48 PM
The problem in Murrieta and Temecula is the infrastructure doesn't support the population and traffic. That's why I try to not shop there.
Zygo February 14, 2013 at 07:52 PM
I read thru the article twice trying to figure out what you were referring to China about. I didn't see China mentioned anywhere. So, what are you talking about. Oh yes, something else...invest in our schools. Yes, I like that, but where do you think the money comes from, other than your residential property taxes, to pay for investing in schools, parks, police, infrastructure, et cetera?
Zygo February 14, 2013 at 07:59 PM
Unless Costco leaves Temecula, a Costco will never be built in Murrieta. The same goes for other big box retailers. Chino Hills got a Costco by offering tax incentives causing Costco to move their store from Pomona which was only a few miles away.
Robert Morris February 14, 2013 at 08:18 PM
Has anybody noticed that there are only two entrances into the Golden Triangle and that they are off the heavily congested area of Murrieta Hot Springs Road? The traffic is bad enough already. We don’t need more traffic.
Zygo February 14, 2013 at 08:19 PM
What Murrieta needs to focus on is offering quality and uniqueness. One suggestion, is if they are looking for a theater, then get a theater that offers something different than what is already here. Warren Theaters offers arguably the best theater experience in the country. There are probably other chains that can build to Warren's quality and movie going experience, but you will have have to demand it. For those that have never been to a Warren Theater - large stuffed lounge chairs and recliners, in seat movie dining and service, adult only balconies where you can enjoy a Guinness or a nice glass of wine while watching the movie. If you want a Costco, you are going to have to make it financially feasible for them to move from their already established location next door. The Golden Triangle offers great possibilities with the right planning. And, adding to what Jit566 noted - cultural attractions feed retail attractions. Going to a movie, a play, or a museum also leads to going to a nearby restaurant or cafe.
Jit566 February 14, 2013 at 08:55 PM
My point is more jobs around, everything comes to play, such as hotel, theater, museum, shopping center, eating places, etc. Murrieta has great performance schools, very active school sport programs, very attracktive housing values, and nice city layout. If we can attrack some tech or green companies in Murrieta, it will help increasing our housing values, bring more opportunities to community. We can attract companies with our lower cost of living compare to LA, OC, and SD, beautiful houses, and city taxes (if city will lower the taxes). Of course, the golden triangle plan will be more feasible by then. Otherwise, empty office buildings, lower household income, or sharing the revenues with Temecula is not the way to compete with our neighbor cities. We have to plan ahead and get ahead. We need to create opportunities, not share the pie with Temecula. We are different than Temecula, becauase we are Murrieta.
D February 14, 2013 at 08:55 PM
Bring on the ICE RINK!......... Hockey.....Figure Skating.... Public Skating !!!!!! And more!
Milo Jensen February 14, 2013 at 09:02 PM
This project will require the Murrieta Planning Comission to rubber stamp additional alcohol licenses for an area already granted above and beyond what the ABC recommends for our area. Brew Ligon, Aces, Arco, were all granted licenses despite our area being already above the census tract numbers for this area. Murrieta government only cares about the money, not the neighbors that have to deal with the added traffic, drunk drivers, drugs, and even murders in our part of town.
Aaron February 14, 2013 at 09:46 PM
The deadline for public input seems pretty close, Is that a standard timeframe in your locale? Doesn't look like enough time for conscious review of the reports. Does the planning commission in Murrieta usually fast track things like this? Are there personal, or business relationships among developers, and the council, or planning commission?
all-c-ing-eye February 15, 2013 at 04:07 AM
this seems like a great place to put some shopping center, and why? simple, Its next to Temecula where most shoppers go because thats where the shops are. This will almost seem like its part of Temecula its so close that shoppers wont have that far to go for further shopping. If that works out you can expand the shopping experience moving northward and deeper into Murrieta. If anyone is worried about Murrieta pride, dont, what good is pride when the shop owners stand around all day hoping someone will come through their door. This is business and thats all it is and Murrieta will benefit, then who knows, maybe one day Lake Elsinore will do it to us. I wish them luck, i wish us luck.
Mike February 16, 2013 at 03:02 AM
I've lived here in Murrieta for 7 years and I love it here. That being said, I have no idea why everyone thinks the Golden Triangle will be such a draw for business. I live within 1/4 mile of the place and I avoid Murrieta Hot Springs like the plague and I'm not the only one. Turn this area into a park, with trails, skateboarding and such and forget the retail function of the property. The traffic is already so bad on this stretch of the road, who really wants to go shopping there? I doubt Nordstrom or anyone else would have anything to do with the property, it's just time for us to admit we are a bedroom community of Temecula and move on.
Arthur Spooner February 16, 2013 at 03:22 AM
Doesnt Mulligans have a water park already?
Zygo February 16, 2013 at 05:34 AM
Much of the traffic on MHS Rd turns north on Winchester. With that said, this center would not be able to function during rush hours without the completion of Clinton Keith Rd all the way o Winchester. A fully functional Clinton Keith would drain a sizable portion of the rush hour traffic from MHS Rd raising its efficiency and enabling MHS Rd to handle the extra load from the Triangle.
Laura February 18, 2013 at 03:14 AM
I agree with Althena - we cannot stop them from building, let look at this as something positive for the city. How about a Trader Joe's, Michaels, or a Costco? or nicer restraunts like; The Elephant Bar, Buca di Beppo, or Joe's Crab Shack.
N1smo2go February 20, 2013 at 07:45 PM
No more bix box stores, Super Wal-Mart is going to be on Jefferson Avenue and 2 hotels are planned on Madison Ave already. Sit down restaurants are a definite need. Heck, Menifee got a Texas Road House, which is one of the best steak houses in the country. I don't like going into Temecula either to shop or eat so we need a restaurant row, better lodging, and higher end shopping. Big box stores like Costco, Target and others should not be on Murrieta Hot Springs Rd, it's bad enough with Sam's Club.
N1smo2go February 20, 2013 at 08:15 PM
The widening of Murrieta Hot Springs road was done for the purpose of the commercial retail center that was planned. I have lived in Murrieta since 1994 and welcome the retail and business here so I don't have to spend my money in any other town. We NEED more sit down restaurants like that in Temecula, Claim Jumper, Olive Garden and etc do 60 percent of their business from Murrieta residents. I live on the west of murrieta away from all the traffic and noise purposefully because I attended all the meetings when they discussed where the retail centers would be located. MHS is well traveled and best location for businesses. Proximity to two freeways and constant traffic flow make it ideal for a few hotels, shops, restaurants and etc. I will save gas instead of heading to the Promenade Mall area
Brent Graham February 22, 2013 at 04:15 PM
The bottom line: What puts the most money in Murrieta's coffers? Or for you park lovers, what costs us the least (money doesn't grow on trees, you know).
amish March 03, 2013 at 04:20 AM
A minor league spots stadium would be awesome.

Boards

More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something