City Council Will Swear In New Members, Select Mayor Tonight

The council will oversee a changing of the guard at its regular Monday night meeting

The City Council will greet its newest member as well as select a mayor and vice mayor at its meeting Monday night.

The meeting begins at 7:30 p.m. at the City Council Chambers, 100 Gregory Lane.

Near the end of the meeting, the oath of office will be given to three members elected in the Nov. 6 election. They are returning counciman David Durant as well as new members Ken Carlson and Tim Flaherty.

for the third and final seat on the council.

The council will also recognize retiring Mayor John Hanecak as well as retiring City Clerk Marty McInturf. Newly elected City Clerk Kimberly Lehmkuhl will be sworn in as will City Treasurer Mark Celio.

After the oaths of office, the newly installed council will select a mayor and a vice mayor for the next year.

Jack Weir December 17, 2012 at 10:51 PM
Correction: Ken Carlson is not a returning counclman. He is newly elected. David Durant is the only incumbent returning to the council.
David Mills December 18, 2012 at 01:37 AM
You are so correct, Jack... thanks for the heads up. The story has been fixed.


More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something
See more »